AuxBeacon Call for Civil Air Patrol Award Nominations

CAP Legal Officer of the Year AwardCall for Nominations for Civil Air Patrol of the Year Awards

by AuxBeacon Readers | AuxBeacon News

Several weeks ago one of AuxBeacon’s readers using the callsign Mailtruck suggested that we hold open nominations for 2018 CAPPER of the Year Awards. This was instigated by the naming of Col Robert Carton as the Maj Gen Dwight H. Wheless CAP Legal Officer of the Year. The idea has been approved and may include current and past members of Civil Air Patrol’s Board of Governors, Congress and CAP-USAF.

Civil Air Patrol’s Board of Governors

Members of Civil Air Patrol’s Board of Governors include, sitting from left, CAP Col Jayson Altieri, vice chair; retired U.S. Air Force Lt Gen Judy Fedder, chair; CAP Col Dale Newell; standing, retired Air Force Maj Gen Sandy Finan, Stacy Bechdolt, CAP Lt Col Tom Vreeland, retired Air Force Maj Gen.Teresa Marné Peterson, Robert Corsi and CAP Col Brad Lynn.

The ideal format for a nomination would be Name of Current High-profile CAP Officer for the Name of Past High-profile guilty CAP Officer CAP Duty Position of the Year Award. If you believe that the implied message behind your nomination will be obscure, you may provide a link to a source that justifies your selection.

Other formats and awards will be considered.

December 17, 2018
Col Jon L. Stokes for the Maj Gen Richard L. Bowling Civil Air Patrol Public Relations Officer of the Year Award
Justification: Vote for Trump and Bowling for NASCAR Dollars

December 14, 2018
Kristian Ward for the Lt Col Stephen Governale Civil Air Patrol Cadet Programs Officer of the Year Award
Justification: Conviction

November 28, 2018
John Postl for the Dwight Wheless Civil Air Patrol Legal Officer of the Year Award
Justification: Do they cry? They join AuxBeacon.

16 Comments on "AuxBeacon Call for Civil Air Patrol Award Nominations"

  1. Before you know it, the Civil Air Patrol will have end of the year awards for just about everything. I miss the old days when the awards meant something.

    Mission Observer of Year Award? Please, no more meaningless honors.

    “As a superb Mission Observer, First Lt. Bill Ulmer assists the crew in the complex search and rescue arena. He actively participates in mission briefings, insuring the mission plan is thorough, the communication plan is complete and the search area plan is accurate.” (these are standard observer requirements)

  2. This one’s old, but you don’t have him yet. How about

    New Hampshire Wing’s Gary Wheaton for Government Relations Transportation Officer of the Year? See my Contact submission.

  3. Lt Colonel Wilson Polidura for the Cotton-headed Ninness-Muggins Award

  4. In the “spirit” of Aerophysiology, I nominate Mississippi Wing’s Lt Col Terry Burton for the Maj Heather McSparrson Drug Demand Reduction Officer of the Year Award.

    [links redacted]

  5. Did you lose my award submissions?

    [Admin: No, we likely have them. The editor who fact-checks and otherwise controls comments for this story and some of the others has not yet returned to review and release. Thank you for your patience and contributions.]

  6. Cadet [Redacted] for the Joel Seidband Pilot of the Year Award

  7. Cadet [redacted] for the Diomonte Jean Civil Air Patrol Security Officer of the Year Award

  8. Avatar CrisColon Blow | December 18, 2018 at 05:32 | Reply

    Jason Altieri for the CrAP Admiral of the Ocean Sea Award?

  9. How about, Jon L. Stokes for the Maj Gen Richard L. Bowling Civil Air Patrol Public Relations Officer of the Year Award?

  10. Charlie Sattgast for the General Martin Luther Order of Hermits of Saint Augustine Award.

  11. The medal and awards charade being played to curry favor and photo-op with people who control how much tax-payer money will be wasted on Civil Air Patrol is over the top.

    US taxpayers foot the bill for Civil Air Patrol members to travel for influence peddling.

  12. Avatar DigitalScrapper | December 13, 2018 at 06:22 | Reply

    As AuxBeacon continues to collect evidence against Civil Air Patrol, I thought I would recommend entrepreneur and CAP Chaplain Charlie Sattgast’s DigitalScrapper project. He’s never shy about cross-plugging his roles in both. Check him out and if his services were of use to you, tell him Marvin sent you.

  13. I’d like to nominate Sen Jim Inhofe for Civil Air Patrol Congressional Public Relations Officer of the Year 2018. I also notice that you don’t have his 21 October 2010 Aviation Misconduct incident logged. That might make a good addition, OK123?

    [Admin: An editor will get the Inhofe aviation incident story up soon. Thank you for telling us.]

  14. I nominate Barry Loudermilk for the Thomas R. Berg Awards & Decorations Officer of the Year.

  15. Frank Blazich for the William L. Kidney History Collections Officer of the Year Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.